Brahms Requiem

Event details

  • Saturday | May 9, 2020
  • 8:00 pm
  • Bailey Performance Center
  • 770-429-2390

May 8th - 9th, 1945 marked the final surrender of Nazi Germany to the Allies. After years of vicious battles, the conflict in Europe was finally over. In the years to come, the full impact of the tragic toll on humanity began to be realized.

To commemorate the 75th anniversary of the end of WWII in Europe, the Georgia Symphony presents A German Requiem by Johannes Brahms. This colossal work in seven movements is scored for orchestra, chorus, and soloists. Opening with the text Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted, Brahms guides his requiem not towards the deceased, but for those who mourn them.

In his approach to presenting a different type of requiem, Brahms utilized German texts as opposed to traditional Latin. In correspondence, Brahms wrote "As far as the text is concerned, I will confess that I would very gladly omit the ‘German’ [from the title] as well, and simply put ‘of Mankind’... making this a Human Requiem.”

Joining the Georgia Symphony for this special performance is Russian guest conductor Anton Shaburov.


Johannes Brahms
Ein deutsches Requiem (A German Requiem)

Anton Shaburov

After winning the First prize at the 9th Jeunesses Musicales...

Read more

Georgia Symphony Orchestra Chorus

Founded in 2007, the GSO Chorus performs choral/orchestral works, pops,...

Read more

Bryan Black

Bryan Black has worked as a conductor, educator, church musician...

Read more

Online program notes are typically available 2 weeks before the performance